Nissan Cube Life - Nissan Cube Car Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question about the computer in the cube.... First, Is the cube truely a "Drive by wire" accelerator?
Second, If so, then what is a good simple explanation of the total functions of this electronic communication between the gas pedal, and the engine, and the transmission (CVT)?
I remember before getting my cube, that I read in some of nissan's literature that the Cube's CVT can learn your driving habits, and adjust to your driving style. What is with this? How? ???

·
Registered
117 Posts
Hi Relic,

This article on wikipedia has a general explanation of what the drive-by-wire throttle system does:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_throttle_control

Unfortunately that article is not a simple explanation. To really understand what is happening you would need to be an electronics engineer and a embedded systems programmer... I am just a software engineer, but I have a general understanding of what these systems do, but I can't explain exactly what is happening. So here is my take on the "simple" explanation: (sorry in advance for the long explanation!)

Our Cubes have a pretty complicated system to control the engine. The Cubes with a CVT transmission have even more complexity. First, it is the computers job to keep the engine running. The computer controls the spark plugs, the fuel injectors and the throttle body (sometimes called the throttle butterfly) and it controls the gear ratio of the transmission as well as whether the torque converter is engaged or not. Additionally it measures the speed of the engine, the speed of the car, the speed of each wheel indipendant of each other, and the emissions of the engine as well as the throttle control (gas pedal) and the breaks.

What happens when you press on the gas pedal depends entirely on what the car is doing at the that moment.